FILIPINO SUBTITLER

SUBTITLING TUTORIALS, TRANSLATION TIPS, TECHNOLOGY UPDATES

When Do You Need to Upgrade Your Software?

leave a comment »

I’ve been translating for the last 5 years and used a couple of new softwares available in the market, including word processors and DVD authoring softwares. I was able to do my work and produce great results with my current operating system and set of softwares. But the question is, just when do you need to upgrade? What are the factors to consider?

Let me share this in a Subtitler’s point of view.

First, do you really need the upgrade? We are talking about the advantages. Does the upgrade possess something that your current version does not? If it does, and it will boost your performance, take it. I asked the same question when I upgraded from Encore 1.5 to Encore 2.0. I was hesitant at first, but I need the new features. I am also sure that it will get things done. So I purchased the upgrade.

I also considered my budget. What’s the use of a good upgrade if you can’t afford it.

Lastly, will it double the rate of your production? It it does, then no second thoughts. We recently upgraded our transcription software and it improved our performance to 35%. It’s something worth the investment.

Filipino Subitler – How to Export DVD Files

Written by addjdl

July 19, 2009 at 7:18 PM

Leave a Reply

